The IBA were delighted to welcome the BIPAR 2017 mid-term meetings to Dublin’s Shelbourne Hotel, St. Stephen’s Green, Dublin 2 on Thursday 16 and Friday 17 February 2017. BIPAR is the European Federation of Insurance Intermediaries which groups 53 national associations from 30 countries. BIPAR represents the interests of insurance agents and brokers and financial intermediaries with the European authorities. On Thursday 16 February 2017, Irish brokers were invited to attend the BIPAR conference which consisted of a mixture of key note addresses, presentations and discussion groups. Broker members enjoyed the following keynote addresses and presentations on the day.

l Minister Eoghan Murphy, Irish Minister of State for Financial Services

l David Cowan, Project Manager on the Insurance Distribution Directive(IDD), Consumer Protection & Financial Innovation Team, EIOPA

l Evert Van Walsum, Head of Investors and Issuers Department, ESMA

l Sophie Nerbonne, Director, Compliance Directorate, CNIL

l Stefan Mueck, IBM, CTO Cognitive Solutions Team, Financial Services – Europe

l Bernard Sheridan, Director of Consumer Protection, Central Bank of Ireland

l Brian Hayes, Irish MEP, Member of the European Parliament’s ECON Committee

Special thanks to CalQRisk for their support of this event and to Nic De Maesschalck, Director of BIPAR for inviting Irish brokers to attend their mid-term meeting. CalQRisk is a fully integrated and end-to-end Governance, Risk & Compliance (GRC) management information system. To find out more information, please visit

Aidan McLoughlin, President, IBA, Minister Eoghan Murphy, Irish Minister of State for Financial Services and Ciaran Phelan, CEO, IBA.

Nic De Maesschalck, Director of BIPAR, Aidan McLoughlin, Minister Eoghan Murphy, Irish Minister of State for Financial Services, Paul Carty, Director of BIPAR and Ciaran Phelan.

Paul O’Brien, CalQRisk, Hazel Rock and Niamh Hayes, both IBA and Chris Hanlon, CalQRisk.

Aidan McLoughlin, President, IBA addresses the gathering.

Gerry Daly, Kidd Insurance and Paul Dillon, ARB Underwriting.

Chris Hanlon, CalQRisk and Maire McSherry, Wright Group.

Donal Milmo-Penny, PIBA and Kieran McHugh, Locktons.